A Word Study on the 2nd Amendment

Image

 

A well regulated militia, in my opinion based on numerous articles that I have read and various scholars interpretations of the 2nd Amendment based on the context and language it was written in, simply means a good and organized group of citizens that are willing to defend their homes, families, neighborhoods, states and country against a threat of any measure to their safety or freedom.

being necessary to the security- In my opinion, the word ‘being’ can be taken as an absolute, as in ‘is’. A well regulated militia, is necessary to the security of a free state. I take ‘necessary’ to mean needed, required or obligated. ‘Security’ to me, means secure or safe.

of a free state- ‘free’ indicates unbound by oppression or tyranny. ‘State’, based on the context of the Constitution refers to the individual states as represented by the citizen’s militia. 

the right of the people- The word ‘right’ to me indicates that the forthcoming statement is a freedom belonging to me as one of the ‘people’, and the ‘people’ are simply the citizen’s of the state and country. 

to keep and bear arms- to me, this statement means I can ‘keep’, hold and have in my possession, buy and own, ‘arms’, which are weapons, namely firearms, with which to defend myself, my family and my rights. 

shall not be infringed- ‘shall not be’ I also take as an absolute- as in ‘will not’ or ‘can not’ and ‘infringed’ means imposed upon, changed or taken away. Inalienable. 

 

The 2nd Amendment, written by the United States of America’s founding fathers, tells me that as a citizen, I am the militia, and that my role in the militia is necessary to ensure my own freedom and the freedoms afforded my state and country as well. That I have the right to own a firearm, that I have the right to bear it, or carry it and that that right shall not be taken away. Period. 

2 responses

  1. Have you ever read this?

    The Unabridged Second Amendment

    by J. Neil Schulman

    http://www.constitution.org/2ll/schol/2amd_grammar.htm

    Now you can have it from a recognized authority what the 2nd Amendment means. 🙂

    regards,

    lwk

    1. Thank you! I read the article-interesting. Mine was just more my interpretation for me personally, but I’m glad my idea is in line with the ‘experts’.

Leave a Reply

